> For the complete documentation index, see [llms.txt](https://admin-things5.gitbook.io/things5/llms.txt). Markdown versions of documentation pages are available by appending `.md` to page URLs; this page is available as [Markdown](https://admin-things5.gitbook.io/things5/users/manage-user.md).

# Manage User

Add, edit and delete user

This section is accessible by main menu (<mark style="color:purple;">**ref 1**</mark>) and presents the list of all the user of the platform, having or not a pending invitation

![](https://887564422-files.gitbook.io/~/files/v0/b/gitbook-x-prod.appspot.com/o/spaces%2F-Mgf4wby1nhNas9J0n_V%2Fuploads%2FbUnRWqTqJA33sryfZeeA%2Fimage.png?alt=media\&token=11186156-218c-4415-a3cc-0bd731f6db42)

Edit a single user by using the **Edit menu** available inside its actions menu (<mark style="color:purple;">**ref 2**</mark>) from where he can also be removed from platform (**menu Delete**, definitively, this action is <mark style="color:red;">**NOT reversible**</mark>)

Is also possible to perform Group association or User deletion to more than one user per time: when the checkbox are selected (<mark style="color:purple;">**ref 3**</mark>) a footer is shown (<mark style="color:purple;">**ref 4**</mark>) with some actions you can apply to all the selected users.

## Add a new user

An admin or any other user having access to this section (more about access section in [Manage Roles](/things5/users/manage-roles.md)) can add a new user using the procedure (<mark style="color:purple;">**ref A**</mark>) to generate a new user profile

![Admin panel to add a new user](https://887564422-files.gitbook.io/~/files/v0/b/gitbook-x-prod.appspot.com/o/spaces%2F-Mgf4wby1nhNas9J0n_V%2Fuploads%2FskF6A4EePVnj0lb1n71Z%2Fimage.png?alt=media\&token=305c03a4-a914-4207-ab66-e5c112be9d6e)

A new user can also directly sign up, as described in [Login](/things5/users/login.md#self-register-as-a-new-user)

## User profile

When the admin **creates an user** (<mark style="color:purple;">**ref A**</mark> above) or **edit his profile** (<mark style="color:purple;">**ref 2**</mark> more above) he is going to manage his personal information: the user type, the authorization over machine groups and his company information

### User type

![](https://887564422-files.gitbook.io/~/files/v0/b/gitbook-x-prod.appspot.com/o/spaces%2F-Mgf4wby1nhNas9J0n_V%2Fuploads%2FbHMiCWl9VfPUhudafLUF%2Fimage.png?alt=media\&token=f7c9e429-3b9a-43cb-836e-2d120dc0ccc7)

The <mark style="color:purple;">**Type**</mark> of user can be just **Admin** or **Standard**.&#x20;

When type is **Admin** user has full access in every section, item or area of the platform, including permanently deleting entities.

Differently, when type is **Standard**, the user needs to be assigned to one or more Groups along with a role as shown here below.

**Save** button must be clicked to make the changes permanent.

### Group authorization&#x20;

Group authorization is only for **Standard user** and is based on [Device groups](/things5/device/manage-devices/device-groups.md) and [**User roles**](/things5/users/manage-roles.md)**.** You need to create at least one Group and one Role before creating a Standard user under your organization.

![](https://887564422-files.gitbook.io/~/files/v0/b/gitbook-x-prod.appspot.com/o/spaces%2F-Mgf4wby1nhNas9J0n_V%2Fuploads%2FCtQawcIASkhtofb3Inuw%2Fimage.png?alt=media\&token=1c02a3af-53e1-4688-b312-1a3084ee2449)

More that one Group/Role couple can be create, **but everyone is unique**! \
It means that a user may have only one role on every single machines group.

Existing Group/Role couples can be delete using Trash icon (<mark style="color:purple;">**ref. B**</mark>) on the right.\
Group/Role Creation and Deletion is immediately applied to the user profile

### Company information

These are company secondary information, not strictly necessary

![](https://887564422-files.gitbook.io/~/files/v0/b/gitbook-x-prod.appspot.com/o/spaces%2F-Mgf4wby1nhNas9J0n_V%2Fuploads%2FbfmOGRMh25hRfHx72iYz%2Fimage.png?alt=media\&token=0689a684-2cc3-4871-8aa6-b640d6db31d3)

Click **Save** button to make this edits permanent
